Rosberg Winner of the 2016 F1

Home/Posts/Sports News/Rosberg Winner of the 2016 F1

Nico Roseberg walked away a winner on Sunday the 13th of March as he took the coveted title of the 2016 Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix. With a goal to be the ‘first world drivers’ title’, Roseberg is well on his way to making Grand Prix history.

Nico Rosberg Winning F1 2016

The German born driver took the number one spot ahead of fellow German four-time champion, Sebastian Vettel, who finished third for Ferrari and reigning world champion Lewis Hamilton who took the second spot for Mercedes. Australian Daniel Ricciardo, who is part of the Red Bull Racing team, took the fourth place.

The race was interrupted and suspended for a period of 20 minutes due to the first red flag at the Albert Part Circuit. This is a first in 21 years since the race came to Melbourne in 1996. The red flag was a suspension, after 18 laps where two-time champion Fernando Alonso, while in a McLaren Honda, struck Haas Ferrari team driver, Estaban Gutierrez.

What resulted was Alonso’s car flying off the track, hitting the barriers where it later recovered and rolled high into a gravel trap. Even though the car was completely destroyed, both drivers were not injured in the crash. Alonso waved to the fans as he walked away from the scene of the crash. The 2016 Australian Grand Prix was Roseberg’s second win in Melbourne following his triumph in 2014 which makes it his 15th career win.

“It’s been a great weekend. The car has been unreal and to beat the Ferraris is just great. I’m super excited”, he said.

By | 2018-05-16T05:50:18+00:00 February 14th, 2016|Sports News|